You can list your venue for free on the four venue-hire marketplaces we checked (Tagvenue, Hire Space, Giggster and Peerspace), but they take 10% to 20% commission per booking instead (as checked on 26 October 2026). Their own pages give these rates: Tagvenue 12.5% or 15%, Hire Space 10% or 12% plus VAT, Giggster 19% of your payout, and Peerspace two different figures, 15% and 20%. HostList.uk, which publishes this guide, takes 0% commission and does not handle payments: organisers message you directly, and you take the booking and the payment yourself. Listing on HostList.uk is free until 31 March 2027; from 1 April 2027, publishing needs its Monthly Plan at £29.99 a month, which is offered only to owners who are traders (businesses), not to consumers (our Terms, § 16).
On a £2,000 booking, a 10% to 20% commission costs you £200 to £400. So before you choose a site, check five things: the percentage, what it is charged on, whether VAT is added, how long the contract runs, and whether you must give the site your best price.
None of the pages we read sets different fees or terms for England, Wales, Scotland or Northern Ireland, and VAT is UK-wide, so this guide covers the whole UK.
How did we check these figures?
HostList.uk is a venue directory, so it competes with the sites below. UK law allows comparative advertising only if, among other conditions, it is not misleading, compares products that meet the same needs, and objectively compares features that are material, relevant, verifiable and representative (Business Protection from Misleading Marketing Regulations 2008, reg. 4). So we kept to these rules:
- Every figure comes from the platform's own page or terms, linked under Sources, and was read on 26 October 2026. We did not use review sites, comparison sites or job adverts.
- We compare like with like: listing fees, commission and contract terms, each in its own place.
- Where a platform's own pages disagree, we show both.
- We do not say which platform is "best" or "cheapest". That depends on your space, your area and your events.
Terms change. Hire Space's terms, for example, let it change the agreement on its own (cl. 20.1). Check the live page before you sign.
How much do venue listing sites charge in the UK?
What each platform says it charges a venue for a standard listing, checked on 26 October 2026. Paid upgrades come later.
| Platform | Cost to list | Commission per booking | Charged on | Who takes the customer's payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tagvenue | Free: "no additional charges or listing fees, ever" | 12.5% or 15% (see notes) | Customer's total payment excluding VAT, for UK venues (cl. 4.4) | Tagvenue via Stripe (online payment); you (invoice bookings) |
| Hire Space | Free (cl. 1(a)) | 10% basic or 12% enhanced (cl. 2.2.2, 2.2.3), plus VAT (cl. 5.7) | Customer spend excluding VAT (cl. 2.2.11, 5.5.1) | You on "Direct" bookings (cl. 6.1); Hire Space on "Handled" bookings (cl. 6.2) |
| Giggster | Free | 19% "out of the host's total payout" | Your location fee plus any extra fees | Giggster |
| Peerspace | Free | 15% or 20% (see notes) | Booking subtotal, including required host services, cleaning fees and additional fees | Peerspace, which then pays you |
| HostList.uk | Free until 31 March 2027. From 1 April 2027, publishing needs the Monthly Plan at £29.99 a month, offered only to traders (businesses), not consumers; up to 10 listings (our Terms, § 16) | 0% | Not applicable | Not handled: the organiser pays you directly |
Notes on the table:
- Tagvenue. Its list-your-venue page gives 12.5% for invoice-based UK categories (dining, bar, restaurant) and 15% for categories where online payment is mandatory, such as meetings, production and dry hire. Its venue terms (last updated 21 August 2025) add that once online payment is on for any room, 15% applies to all that venue's bookings, whatever the category (cl. 4.1.1). Even on invoice, meetings, production and dry-hire bookings (dry hire means "Venue doesn't offer catering") pay 15%; 12.5% covers the other categories (cl. 4.1.2).
- Hire Space. Under its terms (last updated 24 September 2026), the 12% enhanced rate applies to a "Handled" booking where the venue cannot, or chooses not to, follow Hire Space's payment process (cl. 5.5.2). Hire Space can also agree a different rate with a venue in a signed document (cl. 5.10).
- Giggster. Its commission help article, dated 13 May 2026, does not say which countries the rate applies to.
- Peerspace. Its pages conflict. The UK host sign-up page says "hosts keep 85%" of their booking value, which works out at 15%. Its help-centre article "What is the Peerspace service fee?", dated 10 November 2025, says "The current service fee is 20%". Its fees overview (last updated 17 September 2024) gives no percentage and says hosts are told the exact fee during the booking process, so check it there before you accept.
- Guest fees. Giggster and Peerspace also charge the organiser a processing fee on top of your price. Neither page gives the rate.
What does the commission pay for?
Commission pays for work the platform does for you, so compare what each one does, not just the percentage.
- Taking payment and paying you. Tagvenue uses Stripe for online payments and aims to start your payout 3 to 7 working days after the event ends, with its commission taken off first (venue terms cl. 4.15.8). Giggster and Peerspace collect the organiser's money and pay you after taking their fee. On Handled bookings, Hire Space invoices the customer and pays you by BACS, minus its commission (cl. 6.2).
- Booking tools. Tagvenue's page lists proposal templates, automatic follow-ups and two-way calendar sync.
- Reviews. Tagvenue publishes reviews of venues (venue terms cl. 3.18).
- Disputes and fraud. Giggster lists acting as a third party in dispute resolution, and security from fraudulent transactions, among the benefits of booking on its platform. It says accepting payment outside Giggster voids those protections.
- Insurance. Peerspace's UK host page describes £1 million of supplemental general liability cover for bookings, but says hosts must still hold their own primary commercial liability policy.
- Being found. Every marketplace shows your venue to the organisers who search it. None of the pages we read promises a number of enquiries.
HostList.uk does not handle payments, so you take payment yourself and need your own booking terms. Our guide to venue hire deposits, cancellation charges and advertised prices explains what UK consumer law allows.
What would each platform cost on one booking?
These are round, illustrative numbers, not a quote from any platform: one booking worth £2,000 before VAT, with no cleaning fee or other extras. "Not stated" means the pages we read do not say whether VAT is added.
| Platform and rate | Commission | VAT on the commission | Total cost to you | You keep |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tagvenue, 12.5% (invoice-based category) | £250 | Not stated | £250 or more | £1,750 or less |
| Tagvenue, 15% (online payment) | £300 | Not stated | £300 or more | £1,700 or less |
| Hire Space, 10% basic | £200 | £40 | £240 | £1,760 |
| Hire Space, 12% enhanced | £240 | £48 | £288 | £1,712 |
| Giggster, 19% of payout | £380 | Not stated | £380 or more | £1,620 or less |
| Peerspace, 15% (UK host page) | £300 | Not stated | £300 or more | £1,700 or less |
| Peerspace, 20% (help centre) | £400 | Not stated | £400 or more | £1,600 or less |
| HostList.uk, until 31 March 2027 | £0 | £0 | £0 | £2,000 |
| HostList.uk, from 1 April 2027 | £0 | £0 | £0 per booking, plus the Monthly Plan at £29.99 a month | £2,000, less the monthly plan |
Three things change this picture:
- VAT on the commission. The standard VAT rate is 20% as of 26 October 2026. GOV.UK says VAT-registered businesses can reclaim VAT on things they buy for the business. If you are not registered, you cannot reclaim it, so VAT on a commission invoice is a real cost. If you are registered, how much you can reclaim also depends on your situation, including whether your hire is VAT exempt. You must register once taxable turnover goes over £90,000 (also as of 26 October 2026), and exempt sales do not count towards it. See Is venue hire VAT exempt?.
- Extras. Giggster's fee also applies to any additional fees, and Peerspace's to cleaning fees, required host services and additional fees. Tagvenue's "Total Payment" names catering, cleaning fees, equipment and charges added on or after the event day (Tagvenue terms, definitions). Hire Space's "Customer Spend" includes catering, "all other ancillary services" and items that become payable on or after the event day (cl. 2.2.11). So a cleaning charge can carry commission too.
- Volume. Commission is paid on every booking. At 20 bookings a year of £2,000 each, 12.5% is £5,000 a year and 20% is £8,000 a year. Set that against the bookings you would not have found without the platform. HostList.uk's Monthly Plan, from 1 April 2027, is a fixed £29.99 a month (£359.88 a year), however many bookings you take.
Neither Tagvenue (cl. 4.6) nor Hire Space (cl. 4.6) lets you charge customers its commission as an extra fee. The deposits and pricing guide covers how to show prices and fees.
When is commission charged, and can you owe it when you earn nothing?
Tagvenue's page says it charges commission "only when the booking was confirmed and the event took place". Its venue terms add:
- When the right to commission starts: at the earliest of several events, one being the organiser's first contact with you through the platform (cl. 4.8).
- Organisers who contacted you first: no commission is due if you can give written proof that the organiser contacted you about the same booking, and you replied, at least 30 calendar days before their Tagvenue enquiry (cl. 4.9.1).
- Cancellations: commission can be due on some cancelled bookings, including ones you cancel (cl. 4.12).
- When you have not been paid: you owe the commission even if the organiser has not paid you (cl. 4.11).
- Invoices: for invoice-based bookings, Tagvenue invoices you within 7 days after the date the booking was for, and you must pay within 28 days of receiving the invoice (cl. 4.10.1, 4.10.2).
Hire Space's terms say:
- Cancellations: commission is due on completed and cancelled bookings (cl. 5.5.1).
- When you have not been paid: you owe the commission even if the customer has not yet paid you (cl. 6.3.4). On Direct bookings, Hire Space invoices you the day after the first event date (cl. 6.1).
- Repeat events: commission is due on the first 10 occurrences or on every occurrence in the first year, whichever includes more events (cl. 5.6).
Giggster and Peerspace take their fee out of your payout. Peerspace's fees overview says the fee is kept when your payout is started.
What contract do you sign, and how do you leave?
This table covers the free listings; paid packages with 12-month terms come after it. "Not stated" means the pages we read do not say.
| Platform | Minimum term | How you leave | What still applies after you leave |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tagvenue | None: "no lock-in contract" (list-your-venue page) | Cancel your account at any time in the control panel (cl. 25.5) | Commission that is or may become due (cl. 25.6) |
| Hire Space | None stated | End the agreement at any time (cl. 16.2) | You must carry out confirmed bookings (cl. 16.2); enquiries made before you leave stay commissionable (cl. 16.5) |
| Giggster | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Peerspace | None: "no commitments, no setup fees, and no subscriptions" (UK host page) | Tell Peerspace and close your account at any time (terms, s. 1.3(d)) | Fees and bookings made before you leave (s. 1.3(d)); no time limit stated for the non-circumvention rule below |
| HostList.uk | None. From 1 April 2027, the Monthly Plan runs one month at a time and renews automatically until you cancel it (our Terms, § 16) | No notice period. You can cancel the Monthly Plan at any time; it ends at the end of the paid month (§ 16) | No commission: 0% |
Hire Space's venue terms also require you to hold public liability insurance of at least £10 million, professional indemnity insurance of at least £2 million and, if you employ staff, employer's liability insurance of at least £5 million (cl. 7.2).
What about paid upgrades?
Some platforms sell paid packages on top of the free listing, with longer terms:
- Hire Space Core Listing. You pay an annual fee in advance (cl. 2.1). The terms bind you for at least 12 months (cl. 1.1) and renew automatically for another 12 months (cl. 5.1). To cancel, you must write to Hire Space no later than 2 months before the end of your 12-month term (cl. 5.4). Hire Space may raise the price by 5% a year at its discretion (cl. 5.3). The terms do not state the fee. Bookings made while Hire Space is marketing you still carry commission (venue terms cl. 12.6).
- Tagvenue Pro. A paid package of marketing, visibility and lead-generation products, under terms last updated 1 July 2026. It runs for a fixed 12 months (cl. 2.1) and does not renew automatically unless the order form says so or both sides agree in writing (cl. 3.1, 3.2). The fee is set in your order form or invoice, not on the page (cl. 4.1). Annual plans are paid up front unless agreed otherwise, and payments are non-refundable (cl. 4.2, 4.4). Bookings from its Lead Hub still carry Tagvenue's standard commission (Part III, "Commission on Lead Hub Bookings").
If a sales call offers an upgrade, get the order form and the renewal and notice terms in writing before you agree.
Can you list the same venue on several sites?
We found no ban on listing elsewhere in the pages we read, but we did not read every word of every platform's terms. Two platforms have pricing rules that matter if you list in more than one place. We summarise them without interpreting them: read the full clauses, or ask an adviser, before you set different prices on different sites.
- Tagvenue, cl. 4.7. Your price on Tagvenue must match "the best available rate" that you offer the public at the venue or on your own website. If someone shows a lower price for the same booking terms, you must match it and refund the difference within 28 days.
- Tagvenue, cl. 5.3(a). Prices on Tagvenue must not be higher than prices you show, market or quote to potential clients anywhere else.
- Hire Space, Community Guidelines (last updated 24 September 2026). Service providers, including venues, "must offer their best price to Hire Space" and may not advertise prices on Hire Space that are higher than prices quoted elsewhere.
- Hire Space, cl. 4.6. Your guide prices must not be higher than the prices you routinely quote to customers or advertise elsewhere.
Can you take a booking off the platform?
Tagvenue, Giggster and Peerspace have rules against it. Hire Space differs: on Direct bookings the customer pays you and you pay Hire Space its commission (cl. 6.1).
- Tagvenue. Members may not exchange personal or contact details (cl. 3.13). You must not try to make an organiser pay outside the platform (cl. 8.5(e)). Tagvenue says it is more likely to delete your account if you try to take communication or a transaction off the platform (cl. 14.2(d)).
- Giggster. Its help centre says taking a booking off the platform breaks its terms of service. Hosts who break them "will be removed from the community and may be charged for owed Giggster service fees". Accepting payment outside Giggster also cancels its protections.
- Peerspace. Its terms ban hosts and guests from going around the platform (s. 1.2(i)). For UK business users, the charge for doing so is 30% of the subtotal of the booking concerned.
What about directories that charge a fee instead of commission?
Some sites charge a membership or subscription fee and take 0% of the booking. Two examples from their own pages:
- VenueScanner says venues pay "0% commission on bookings" and contract directly with the organiser. It mentions membership fees but does not publish them: venues are asked to book a demo.
- HeadBox's pricing page says creating a listing is free, with 0% commission on enquiries that come to you directly through your listing. Corporate event enquiries carry commission "from 10%". Its Lead Feed carries 0% commission but needs a yearly subscription, at a price the page does not give. Its venue partner terms (contracts signed from January 2026) apply to services bought on an order form. They run to the order form's end date, or for 12 months if none is set, then renew automatically for 12 months at a time unless either side gives at least 30 days' written notice (cl. 7.1). From the first renewal they add a data and analytics fee of £250 a year (excluding tax), unless you opt out in writing at least 30 days before it starts (Part E). The schedules cover HeadBox's Lead Generation, Demand Generation and Conversion suites; we could not confirm whether the Lead Feed subscription is sold under these terms.
For a subscription site, ask how many bookings a year it must bring to pay for itself. You need the price in writing to answer that.
Where does HostList.uk fit?
HostList.uk is a UK directory of event venues and spaces:
- 0% commission. Organisers message you directly and you keep the full hire fee.
- No payments. You agree the price, deposit and contract with the organiser and take payment yourself.
- No lock-in. There is no minimum term and no notice period. From 1 April 2027, the Monthly Plan renews each month until you cancel it, and cancelling takes effect at the end of the paid month.
- Cost. Publishing up to 10 listings is free until 31 March 2027. From 1 April 2027, publishing needs the Monthly Plan at £29.99 a month, which is offered only to owners who are traders (businesses), not to consumers. The full rules are in our Terms, § 16.
The trade-off is the reverse of a marketplace: you keep the whole fee, but you do the booking admin, carry the payment risk and write your own terms.
How do you choose where to list your venue?
Work through these steps for each site you are considering:
- Work out what you keep. Take a typical booking and subtract the commission and any VAT on it. Use the rate for your type of event, not the lowest rate advertised.
- Check what the percentage is charged on: the hire fee only, or also cleaning, extras and add-ons? With or without VAT?
- Check who holds the money. If the platform takes payment, find out when it pays you. If you take payment, you need your own deposit and cancellation terms.
- Read the term and renewal clauses. A free listing you can cancel at any time is low risk; a 12-month paid package that renews automatically is not.
- Read the price-parity clauses before you list the same space on more than one site.
- Read the off-platform rules. Know what happens if a customer who first found you on the platform wants to book you directly next year.
- Look at your area. Search each site for venues like yours nearby. That tells you more about local demand than any national figure.
- Keep records. How commission and listing fees affect your tax depends on how you report your hire income. See our guide to tax on venue hire income.
You do not have to pick one site. But if you also use a commission marketplace, read its price-parity and off-platform clauses first.
What we don't know
- Every figure here can change. We checked each row on 26 October 2026 and will re-check them every month.
- Peerspace's fee and Giggster's countries. Peerspace's UK host page (15%) and help centre (20%) disagree, and we cannot tell which applies to a UK host. Giggster's commission article names no country.
- VAT on Tagvenue, Giggster and Peerspace commission. The pages we read do not say whether VAT is added. Hire Space's terms say it is (cl. 5.7).
- Unpublished fees. We found no published prices for Hire Space Core Listing, Tagvenue Pro, HeadBox Lead Feed or VenueScanner membership, and we have not used figures from other websites.
- Negotiated rates. Hire Space's terms allow a different rate agreed in a signed document (cl. 5.10).
- The Budget on 28 October 2026. It could change the 20% VAT rate and the £90,000 registration threshold, both as of 26 October 2026. We will re-check this guide after it.
- HostList.uk from 1 April 2027 for owners who are not businesses. The Monthly Plan is offered only to traders. Our Terms say the publishing rules from that date for other owners will be sent by email (§ 18), and they are not published yet.
- Other sites. This is not a full list of the market. We left out other sites, including wedding directories, and have not checked their fees.
This guide is general information, not legal, tax or financial advice. Read each platform's full terms, and take advice on your own situation before you sign.
Frequently asked questions
Is it free to list my venue for hire in the UK?
On the four marketplaces we checked, yes: Tagvenue, Hire Space, Giggster and Peerspace all say listing is free, as checked on 26 October 2026. They take commission on each booking instead, and some sell optional paid upgrades. HostList.uk is free to list on until 31 March 2027 and takes 0% commission; from 1 April 2027, publishing needs its Monthly Plan at £29.99 a month, offered only to owners who are businesses.
How much commission do venue booking sites charge?
As checked on 26 October 2026, Tagvenue charges UK venues 12.5% for invoice-based categories such as dining and bars, and 15% where online payment is enabled or for meetings, production and dry hire. Hire Space charges 10% or 12% of the customer's spend excluding VAT, plus VAT on the commission. Giggster takes 19% of the host's payout, and Peerspace's pages give both 15% and 20%. Always check the rate on the platform's own page before you sign up.
Is venue commission charged on the VAT part of the price?
For UK venues, Tagvenue and Hire Space both say their commission is calculated on the amount excluding VAT. Hire Space's terms then add VAT to the commission itself. If you are not VAT-registered, you cannot reclaim that VAT, so it is an extra cost.
Can I list my venue on more than one website?
We found no ban on listing elsewhere in the platform pages we read. But Tagvenue and Hire Space both say your price on their site must not be higher than the prices you offer elsewhere. Read those clauses in full before you set different prices on different sites.
Can I stop listing my venue at any time?
On the free listings of Tagvenue, Hire Space and Peerspace, the terms let you close your account or end the agreement at any time, but you can still owe commission on bookings or enquiries from before you left. Paid upgrades differ: Hire Space's Core Listing has a 12-month minimum term, renews automatically, and you must write to cancel no later than 2 months before the term ends. HostList.uk has no minimum term and no notice period; from 1 April 2027, its Monthly Plan renews each month until you cancel, and cancelling takes effect at the end of the paid month.
Does HostList.uk handle payments?
No. Organisers message the owner directly, and the owner agrees the price and takes payment themselves. The site takes 0% commission, so the owner keeps the full hire fee.
Sources
- List your space for free, Tagvenue — tagvenue.com/page/list-your-venue, accessed 26 October 2026.
- Terms and Conditions applicable to Venues (last updated 21 August 2025), Tagvenue — tagvenue.com/page/terms-venue, accessed 26 October 2026.
- Tagvenue Pro Terms and Conditions (last updated 1 July 2026), Tagvenue — tagvenue.com/page/terms-pro, accessed 26 October 2026.
- Venue Terms and Conditions, Community Guidelines and Core Listing Terms and Conditions (venue terms last updated 24 September 2026), Hire Space — hirespace.com/policies, accessed 26 October 2026.
- How much commission does Giggster take? (13 May 2026), Giggster — help.giggster.com/en/articles/2832062, accessed 26 October 2026.
- Is Giggster free?, Giggster — help.giggster.com/en/articles/9944654, accessed 26 October 2026.
- Why you should keep all bookings on the Giggster platform, Giggster — help.giggster.com/en/articles/1717569, accessed 26 October 2026.
- Host sign-up (UK), Peerspace — hosts.peerspace.com/uk/sign-up, accessed 26 October 2026.
- What is the Peerspace service fee? (10 November 2025), Peerspace — support.peerspace.com/en/articles/10119442, accessed 26 October 2026.
- Fees overview (last updated 17 September 2024), Peerspace — peerspace.com/legal/terms/fees-overview, accessed 26 October 2026.
- Peerspace Services Agreement (terms, last updated 17 September 2024), Peerspace — peerspace.com/legal/terms, accessed 26 October 2026.
- List your venue, VenueScanner — venuescanner.com/list-your-venue, accessed 26 October 2026.
- Pricing, HeadBox — headbox.com/host/pricing, accessed 26 October 2026.
- Venue partner terms, HeadBox — headbox.com/policies/venue_partner_terms, accessed 26 October 2026.
- The Business Protection from Misleading Marketing Regulations 2008, reg. 4, legislation.gov.uk — legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2008/1276/regulation/4, accessed 26 October 2026.
- VAT rates, GOV.UK — gov.uk/vat-rates, accessed 26 October 2026.
- VAT registration thresholds, GOV.UK — gov.uk/how-vat-works/vat-thresholds, accessed 26 October 2026.
- Reclaim VAT on business expenses, GOV.UK — gov.uk/charge-reclaim-record-vat/reclaim-vat-business-expenses, accessed 26 October 2026.
- Terms of Service (in force from 14 October 2026), § 16 Plans and § 18 Free publishing period, HostList.uk — hostlist.uk/terms, accessed 26 October 2026.
- Budget 2026, HM Treasury — gov.uk/government/topical-events/budget-2026, accessed 26 October 2026.
If you hire out a function room, barn, garden, loft or any other space and want a 0% commission option alongside or instead of a marketplace, you can list your venue on HostList.uk for free until 31 March 2027. From 1 April 2027, publishing needs the Monthly Plan at £29.99 a month, offered only to owners who are businesses (our Terms). Organisers message you directly, and the site does not handle payments, so your price, deposit and terms stay between you and the organiser. There is no minimum term and no notice period. To start, paste a link to your own website or an existing listing page: your listing is imported in about 30 seconds, and you type in the guest count yourself. One owner can publish up to 10 venues.